Hook 'N Stick Designs

Handmade for the ones you love

Button bin

on July 27, 2013

I use buttons on almost everything I make. Barefoot sandals, owl hats, sock monkey hats, and some booties, too. So, I put a request out to my Facebook friends to send me some of their old buttons that they didn’t have a use for. I was so excited when my cousin in NY, also a very crafty gal, sent me a box of some awesome vintage buttons, most still on the cards.

It was very exciting to see $0.29 button cards!

20130727-083555.jpg

I also got a whole whack of buttons from eBay for really cheap. This was a pretty awesome score, but it led to a slight problem. No more room in my button bin!

This is what I used to use – a round tin from a German Christmas cookie box. It was not big enough for all of the loose buttons as well as the carded ones.

20130727-084813.jpg

With the advent of Pinterest, I have started collecting all manner of things, including empty glass jars. My husband laughs, but I just put them aside, thinking ill find a use for some of them eventually. Today is that eventually. I turned a big pasta sauce jar into a button holder.

I love how it looks with all of the beautiful colorful buttons in a clear glass jar!

20130727-084729.jpg

Now I’m using the old button tin to hold all of the carded buttons, and it works out pretty well. The only downside is that even though I can see all of the buttons pretty well, they are often difficult to actually get to.


Leave a comment